Skip to main content

fairwinds.org | Financial freedom happens here.

You've found your home and you're ready to buy! Our mortgage professionals are here to help you every step of the way. Let's get started!

Whether you're looking for flexible terms, competitive rates or low-to-no closing costs, our dedicated mortgage professionals will provide you with a suitable solution.

Home Purchase

  • No application fee
  • Quick pre-qualification
  • No closing cost options
  • All our mortgages are serviced locally
  • No pre-payment penalties

 Apply Now

FAIRWINDS does not service FHA or VA loans.

Purchase Loan Rates

Mortgage Type APR Points
30 year fixed 5.625% .713
20 year fixed 5.291% .708
15 year fixed 4.827% .668

*Rates are updated frequently and are subject to change without notice. Your actual rate is based on your credit quality, down payment, loan term, and amount financed. Rate lock cutoff time is 4:00 PM EDT. Any lock requests received after 4:00 PM EDT will be subject to tomorrow’s posted rates. Interest rates above are based on a loan amount of $200,00, single-family home as a primary residence, 45-day rate lock (for purchases), 60-day rate lock (for refinances), credit score of 740, and a loan-to-value of 80%. Discount points may apply. Terms and conditions subject to change at any time without prior notice.

Special Mortgage Programs

Freedom Mortgage

Whether you're purchasing your first home or moving to a new house, enjoy the freedom of this no closing cost mortgage.

Learn More about Freedom Mortgage

Loans are subject to credit union membership eligibility, credit approval, and verification of information provided on the application. Other terms and conditions may apply. Terms and conditions subject to change at any time without prior notice.

FAIRWINDS Member Reviews

Home Mortgage is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 457.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service, Great Rate All the people who worked with us on the mortgage were fantastic. There was excellent communication along the way as to what to expect next and the time frame in which it would occur. There was never an issue about not making the closing date as I have heard from many other lenders.
Date published: 2022-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Your company was fabulous and everything was handled fantastic
Date published: 2022-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mortgage Excellent people who participated in my refinancing my mortgage. Closing was excellent and all people who were involved were knowledgeable and helpful. Thank you, Fairwinds!
Date published: 2022-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy mortgage refinance I was happy to do business with Fairwinds m. They made everything easy and loved that I was able to do everything digitally.
Date published: 2022-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Experience My experience obtaining my mortgage loan was flawless! I worked with James T., and he was great! I highly recommend Fairwinds for all your banking needs.
Date published: 2022-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An experience with Fairwinds I have Checing and Savinga and Mortgage Accounts with this Bank
Date published: 2022-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mortgage experience My wife and I have not had a mortgage in 20 years and not in Florida. The Fairwinds people went out of their way to assist us in a process that was at times stressful, difficult and confusing. They exhibited what members should receive from their credit union, professional, interested service.
Date published: 2022-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Team! I have been a FAIRWINDS member for many years. When I made the decision to use them for my mortgage, I was pleasantly surprised by the helpfulness of the team that worked on my loan. Steven was great at answering my questions and keeping me informed. Then Nancy picked up where he left off.
Date published: 2022-04-14
  • y_2022, m_6, d_23, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_85, tr_372
  • loc_en_US, sid_440, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_fairwinds
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 129.99ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

How to Save Thousands of Dollars with a FAIRWINDS Mortgage

FAIRWINDS is helping financial freedom seekers nationwide search, buy, and save on their next home. Whether you’re looking for your first home or forever home, we can help you buy a house with affordable mortgage solutions to help you pay off your loan as fast as possible.

With competitive mortgage rates, short-term financing, and digital tools right within your FAIRWINDS account, you have access to a full suite of mortgage resources to guide you along the way.

Here are nine common mortgage questions and answers to help you get your home-buying journey started:

What is a mortgage?

A mortgage is a loan given for the purchase of a home.

What are the mortgage rates today?

Financial freedom seekers who are reviewing their best mortgage options are also seeking the lowest mortgage rates. Since mortgage rates are changing daily, this means the mortgage rate today may be different than the one you see when you are approved for a home loan. When you buy a house and finance with FAIRWINDS, you can get the best mortgage rates and terms like a 15-year mortgage with a 4.827% APR or a 30-year mortgage with a 5.625% APR.

How much home can you afford?

Our free mortgage calculators make it easy to paint a precise picture of how much home you can afford to buy. From seeing how much you can save with shorter-term financing and a lower interest rate or by making bi-weekly payments, we have free mortgage calculators to help you go further on your financial freedom journey.

Why should you get a mortgage preapproval?

A mortgage preapproval can work alongside our mortgage calculators to tell you your loan eligibility. It helps you stand out by simplifying your search because you and your real estate agent will be in the know of your house affordability. Sellers may also be more eager to work with someone who has already started the mortgage process.

How does a credit score impact buying a house?

Your credit score is based on numerous factors from your financial history. This includes, but is not limited to, your payment history, credit card use, credit age, and total accounts. It’s critical to use your credit responsibly because it’ll determine whether you qualify for a mortgage, the interest rate you will be charged, and the maximum amount you may be loaned.

Want to save more money for your first home?

The FAIRWINDS My First Home Savings Account is designed specifically for first-time homebuyers and makes saving for a down payment rewarding. Having a separate savings account helps you earn interest on the money you’re saving while keeping your funds out of sight and out of mind.

What is an easy way to buy a house and finance with FAIRWINDS?

HomeAdvantage is our member-exclusive real estate service to help you search for a home, find a Realtor®, and earn a cash rebate along the way. You’ll have access to current MLS listings to search through an inventory of homes near you, get email alerts on available homes that match your must-haves, and receive local property values and demographic data.

Can you automate your mortgage payments?

Your mortgage payments may be one of the largest expenses along your financial freedom journey. Instead of making manual payments, automatically set up your monthly mortgage payments with deductions straight from your FAIRWINDS Spending or Checking Account. As you consider what kind of payments you’ll make, bi-weekly payments are an ideal choice to accelerate your mortgage payoff. Instead of monthly payments, you’ll divide it in half and pay it every other week. This results in a net effect of paying an extra mortgage payment toward principal each year. You can say goodbye to your mortgage faster!

How can you pay off your mortgage early?

Before you choose a 30-year mortgage, make the 15-year mortgage part of your financial freedom plan to save thousands of dollars in interest. As you’re looking for the current mortgage rates, the type of financing you put in place also makes a huge difference to your budget. A longer-term mortgage will have a lower monthly payment, but you’ll end up spending more money instead of saving on interest and being mortgage-free faster.


We recognize that buying a home is a long-term goal, and there’s no time like the present to start saving and get the know-how of making the home-buying process simple and easy. Even when you’re officially a homeowner, remember that ongoing costs may include your mortgage payments, maintenance and repairs, utilities, and a homeowner’s association fee. What’s included in your monthly mortgage payments? Principal and interest, mortgage insurance, property taxes, and homeowner’s insurance.

As a FAIRWINDS member, you’re packed with tools and resources to confidently keep track of your payments and other essential expenses, like a free budgeting tool. Goals and Budgets will give you a complete overview of where your money is going each month, and help you find places to adjust your budget. No matter where you go, you can take your budget with you anywhere, anytime.